The Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), the biggest writers’ body on the African continent, is pleased to announce the Long and Short lists for the twenty 2023 edition of ANA Prizes. Carefully selected from a pool of entries, the lists are provided genre by genre and in no order is as follows:

The Longlist
1. Rogues of the East by Ikenna Okeh
2. Leave my Bones in Saskatoon by Michael Afenfia
3. The Nigerian Mafia by Onyeka Nwelue
4. Zeb Silhouette by Chinyere Grace Okafor
5. Saro by Nike Campbell
6. Turbulent Waters by Timothy Etchie

The Shortlist
1. Finding Kitty by Chigozie A. Mbadugha 
2.  A Wonderful World by Vincent Evhade
3. The Female's Duty by Ireyimika Oladele-Ojo 
4. Crossroad by Taiwo Idowu

The Shortlist
1. Utibe Hanson. Unnoticed: Presence of Things      
2. Charles Terseer Akwen. On This Land                     
3. Tope Ogundare. Will You Buy My Wares?              
4. Umar Abubakar Sidi. Like Butterflies Scattered About by Art Rascals    
5. Thomas Peretu. Whispers in a Junkyard     
The Shortlist
1. Storm Across the Sahel: A Collection of Short Stories by Aliyu Danladi
2. When Dreams Burn by Dul Johnson


The longlist
1. Isidore Diala (2023) The Truce. Ibadan: Kraft Books Ltd.
2. Dul Johnson  (2023) In the Crucible. Abuja: NIRPRI/LEHAP.
3. Olatunbosun Taofeek (2022) Where is Patient Zero. Lagos: Grecian Company.
4. Bayo Mosoba (2023). Passing-Out Parade in Mankilla. Ibadan: Noirledge
5. Olutayo Irantiola (2022) The Okeho Exodus: Regicide, Revolt, Relocation. Ibadan, PEO Davies.
6. Nkiru Akaenyi (2023). The Mandate. Abak: Ablaze Publishers.
7. Ineye Johnny Dudafa (2023) Mangrove in the Desert. Abuja: NIRPRI.
8. Stephen Kekeghe (2022) Broken Edges. Ibadan Kraft Books Ltd.
9. Peter Omoko (2023). Kidnapped. Ibadan: Kraft Books Ltd.
10. Achalugo Chioma Ilozumba. The Women in the Mirror. (2023). Lagos: The Story Station.
11. Olubunmi Familoni (2023). When Big Masquerades Dance Naked. Ibadan: Noirledge.

The Shortlist
1. Trophy Husband by Ejiro Joyce Otive-Igbuzor
2. The Nigerian Mafia Mumbai by Onyeka Nwelue
3. Some Angels Don’t See God by Ever Obi
4. The Black Men of Bissonnet Street by Sola Owonibi
5. And Then He Sang a Lullaby by Ani Kayode Somtochukwu

NOTE: Kindly be informed that the winners will be announced at the Award Dinner Night during the 2023 ANA International Convention hold at the Mamman Vatsa Writers Village, Mpape, Abuja in November 2023.

Maik Ortserga
General Secretary

ANA Annual Literary Prizes/Awards

At the last count ANA has 14 literary prizes award categories(for both published and unpublished works) cutting across all the genres of literature and open to both young and old Nigerian writers, at home and abroad, with the least cash prize being ₦50,000 and the highest being $2,500.These prizes, endowed by institutions and individuals and administered by ANA are publicly advertised, entered for, judged by reputable panel of judges and awarded without fail every year as appropriate. The detail of these prizes are as follows:


S/No.CompetitionCategory of EntriesPrizes
1ANA/Cadbury Prize for PoetryPublished works only$2,500
2ANA/NDDC Flora Nwapa Prize for Women (Creative) WritingPublished works onlyN100,000
3ANA/NDDC Gabriel Okara Prize for PoetryPublished   unpublished works₦100,000
4ANA/NDDC J. P. Clark Prize for DramaPublished   unpublished works₦100,000
5ANA/NDDC Ken Saro Wiwa Prize for ProsePublished   unpublished works₦100,000
6ANA/Chevron Prose Prize on Environmental issues (Prose)Published works only$2000
7ANA/Esiaba Irobi Prize for PlaywritingPublished   unpublished works₦50, 000
8ANA/Jacaranda Prize for Prose FictionPublished works only₦50,000
9ANA/Funtime Prize for Children’s Literature (Prose)
*Winning entry to be published by sponsor (Funtime Publications) with a sign on advance royalty of N250,000
unpublished works only, Ages 8-15₦150,000
10ANA/Atiku Abubakar Prize for Children’s LiteraturePublished works and picture books only; Ages 0-7₦100,000
11ANA/Lantern Books Prize for Children’s Fiction
*Winning entry to be published by Lantern Books.
Unpublished works only, Ages 8 – 15₦100,000
12ANA/James Ene Henshaw Prize for Playwriting
*Playwright of winning entry to work with an experienced director for the production of the play
Unpublished play scripts only₦100,000
13ANA/NECO Teen Author Prize (prose)Published   unpublished works₦100,000
14ANA/Mazariyya Teen Author Prize (poetry)Published   unpublished works₦50,000


However, during the Remi Raji led ANA National Executive Council (2011-2013) the list of annual prizes were audited to exclude prizes whose sponsors’ were no longer forthcoming or became inoperatable due to some other administrative issues. Consequently, the list of subsisting ANA awards to date is as follows:

S/No.CompetitionCategory of EntriesPrizes
1ANA Prize for PoetryPublished   unpublished works₦100,000.00
2ANA Prize for Prose FictionPublished   unpublished works₦100,000.00
3ANA Prize for DramaPublished   unpublished works₦100,000.00
4ANA/Maria Ajima Prize for Literary CriticismFocus on criticism of emergent Nigerian Literature₦100,000.00
5ANA/Abubakar Gimba Prize for Fiction (Short Stories collections)Published works only₦200,000.00
6ANA Children’s Literature Prize (for ages 7-13 years)Published works only₦100,000.00