Membership Structure

ANA has members in virtually all States of the Federation and in all the 6 Geo-Political Zones of the country while it has active and functional branches in 30 States of the Federation.

The Association has 3(three) categories of membership: Associate; Full; and Honorary member. To become an associate member of ANA, you only need to profess the innate creative writing talent evident in manuscripts which may have been published in newspapers, journals or in anthologies or at least good enough to be so published. With this in the kitty, a fledging writer only needs to link up with the nearest ANA State branch to his or her place of residence, register and start participating in the various activities of such a branch. To become a full member of the Association, you must be a published creative writer, with at least a book to your name, or a considerable number of works published in reputable anthologies and must have attended at least one national convention of the Association. Honorary membership is given to non-writers, corporate bodies or groups who have shown in their activities, a passion for literature or have contributed by way of support to literary activities of any kind.

Administrative Structure

The Association has a governing National Executive Council made up of 14(fourteen) officials headed by a President with the secretariat administered by a General Secretary, elected every two years at a national convention which is held annually. A slightly similar Executive Council but less in number runs the Association's business at the States' level. The national headquarter or national secretariat is located at the National Theatre Complex Lagos and efforts are still being made to develop its landed property in Abuja into a world class writers' village which would then house its permanent National Headquarter.


ANA branches and chapters have an autonomy of operations guided by the general objectives of the Association and are free to design programmes and activities to further literary interests peculiar to their various environment. However,these branches and chapters derive their legitimacy to operate from the national body,which is the one recognised by law and from which they are governed through administrative directives,general programmes and projects.