October 05, 2020


The Association of Nigerian Authors [ANA] hereby announces the prizes for its 2020 literary competitions.

The prizes are:

ANA Prize for Poetry (published & unpublished) – N 100,000

ANA Prize for Prose Fiction (published & unpublished) – N 100,000

ANA Prize for Drama (published & unpublished) – N 100,000

ANA Prize for Children's Literature- 7-13 years age range (Published works only and open to all categories of authors) - N100, 0000

Nigerian writers, at home and abroad, desirous of entering their works for the Annual Literary Prizes, may now do so. Works entered should have been published between 2018 and 2020.


An entry fee of N3, 000 (per entry) is required for all the prizes. The fee is to be paid by the author or the publisher in favour of the:

ACCOUNT NAME: Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA)

BANK: Zenith Bank of Nigeria Plc

ACCOUNT NO: 1014606745

Please, note:

[a] Due to the contradictions brought by the global pandemic (COVID-19), causing delays in all spheres of human life, this year’s prizes have been trimmed down to four as listed above.

[b]The entry fee is for the purpose of prize administration only.

[c] A photocopy of the appropriate Deposit Slip[s] MUST accompany Requirement #2 below.

Six copies (6) of the book or manuscript to be entered, specifying the Prize being entered for, alongside a covering letter and the photocopy of the Deposit Slip used in Requirement 1 above, should be sent by post to:

The General Secretary, Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA), KM 2, Mamman Vatsa Writers’ Village, Mpape, Abuja or PMB 518, Garki, Abuja.

The covering letter should contain accurate contact details of the writer or/and publisher of the work, including email and surface mail addresses and telephone numbers.

Please, note also that:

[a] The Association will NOT take responsibility for the delay in the postal service nor claim registered parcels in cases where it has to pay for such entries or parcels.

[b] Multiple entries, where applicable, are allowed but a work must not have been entered for the same prize prior to the present entry and it must have been published between 2018 and 2020.


The works that are to be submitted in all categories should be original and not recast(s) of already existing works. All submissions are subjected to copyright laws of Nigeria as authors should note that they retain full responsibility for any sort of infringement. Works entered into for ANA prizes are expected to be of the highest language and literary quality.


Deadline for the receipt of ALL entries is October 15, 2020 (there will be no extension of this deadline). A shortlist will be announced by the end of October, 2020. Winners of the prizes will be announced by the judges at the Awards Dinner during the International Annual Convention of the Association of Nigerian Authors in November, 2020.

Maik Ortserga

General Secretary.